Fabregas: “…probably the worst first half I’ve done in my life”

I just heard the post game interview given by Cesc, the portion that was covered in MotD. Here is what El Capitan said,

The first half was probably the worst first half I’ve done in my life because I didn’t have confidence. I couldn’t turn, I couldn’t sprint, I was losing every ball. But after in the second half I had strapping, it was a little bit better, and maybe because we wanted to win so much I didn’t think about it that much. But we see how it reacts.

Surprising that this wasn’t covered that well in the media. This does corroborate what Wenger said after the game,

Cesc played a bit within himself. He had a bit of tension in his hamstring. Let’s hope he has no setback.

At half-time, I had a hesitation to take him off. Then I left him on, I thought ‘just for 10 or 15 minutes’, but in the end he got better and better.

I guess most of us noticed this while watching the game itself. In my individual analysis I did mention he was a bit off-colour and didn’t play to his usual standards. His stats were still at least as good as those of Denilson and Song (barring the goal of course!). Kind of shows why Wenger wanted Cesc to play even when he wasn’t at his best. But with Walcott back we could have put Nasri in the middle. In that case the risk would have been that of giving Theo two starts in three days after a six week lay-off. Seems like a difficult decision either way.

I hope Arsene rests him for the mid-week Champions League tie but I won’t be surprised if we see him playing with a strapping. Fabregas is not the kind of player who would want to be away from the playing field and unless the medics have a strong negative opinion Le Boss will probably put him on. We’ll know more when Arsene gives an update on the fitness issues.

It’s also interesting to note how harsh Fabregas’ opinion of his own performance is. Many people claim to be their own worst critics but in this case we can clearly see the exaggerated criticism in his words. I guess that’s an off-shoot of being one of the very best, you cannot accept anything less than the highest level of performance.

22 Responses to Fabregas: “…probably the worst first half I’ve done in my life”

  1. faiz says:

    I love cesc Its a shame that he won’t spend the rest of his career at arsenal

  2. John says:

    I so hope Cesc is rested for the Shakthar trip. With the real winter’s cold just around the corner and so many away fixtures coming up, we’lll need our best players as close to 100% as possible.

  3. venky says:

    Unlike you,I don’t think Wenger would put him on the pitch against Shaktar even if the medical staff gives a positive response. I am pretty sure that he is not going to play,not even in the squad I think. Arsene must have definitely learnt his lessons about how vital it is to keep Cesc fit. Two reasons for this match being, 1. Wilshere is available. 2. Not a must win game. Hope the injury doesn’t sideline him for weeks

  4. kerresh says:

    I think cesc should be rested.Any decent Arsenal team can beat Shaktar.

  5. False 9 says:

    I’m relieved to read that. I thought he didn’t play at his top top level at Eastlands, and during the West Ham game it got worse, I was starting to fear some kind of dip in form and wondered what the cause was.
    He’s our most important player, without him we don’t seem to win anymore.

    Come on Asenal!

  6. Dave says:

    I hope he is rested…its not the most important game of the season, dropped points aren’t of the biggest concern as even with a loss the boys could still qualify after the game. Jack can play, i’d prob opt for denilson again just to bring stability along with song/nasri/rosicky. Probs rosicky as Nasri and Song have also earned a rest. Walcott and Arsharvin on wings, Bendy up top! That team is still going to give shaktar so much trouble!

  7. Dave says:

    Anyone know the story on Diaby! he is someone i would love to see back esp now cesc is back! Cesc really does lift Diaby’s game about 10 levels

  8. T_arsenal says:

    Diaby is injured and arsen didn’t sy much about when he is cmg back song also hv a slight injury so I don’t think he is gonna take a chance with him aswell
    we only need three point from three game one at home if win this game we can play the reserve side for the rest of the games

  9. Pat says:

    With Wilshere returning from suspension, there is no need for Fabregas to play against Shakhtar at all.

  10. rock says:

    Does anyone know if tomorow’s match is on itv1 or 4….normally its on itv on wednesday but even on the offcial arsenal site, they dont say apart from Atvo…..! Please let me know!

  11. T_arsenal says:

    Rock it’s on sky sport n kick of time is 6 pm

  12. Dave says:

    is the rumour of song niggle true?

  13. T_arsenal says:

    Yh it’s true nothing big

  14. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ashfaq Ali, EpiKnightz. EpiKnightz said: DesiGunner: Fabregas: “…probably the worst first half I’ve done in my life”: I just heard the post game in… http://bit.ly/9wEU2h #Arsenal […]

  15. AnonymousGun says:

    I think if we are worried in playing TW14 in Shaktar we can always play TR7 in the RW slot ^^

  16. Jackwilsheresgf says:

    I think arsene should play a 2nd or3rd string team. If we lose so what. We will win the next one and give young players like jet and co some experience. We will also have a fresh side for the weekend

  17. santori says:

    I have a feeling we are in for a hard one against Shaktar. We may drop some points if not careful as they will be out to regain their pride.

    Still wouldn’t mind seeing :

    Eboue…….Squid……..Kos…….Clichy
    ………..Denilson….Rosicky………..
    Walcott………..Nasri……….JET(Vela)
    ……………Bendtner………………

    • santori says:

      Note : Oour LW – Like to see how JET does. Vela needs to up his game, all this talk about his pace and I haven’t as yet seen evidence of it.

  18. […] Fabregas: “…probably the worst first half I’ve done in my life” I just heard the post game interview given by Cesc, the portion that was covered in MotD. Here is what El Capitan […] […]

Leave a comment